Exhibitions On View



Unbound Narrative

August 13, 2016 - January 15, 2017


The book, like art, represents our desire to document, communicate and understand the details of human existence. Increasingly, contemporary artists have been exploring the function, structure, and content of the book to create new relationships and interpretations - altering our conception of what the book can be. Unbound Narrative looks at the work of nine contemporary artists who utilize the book as medium and inspiration to create their visual narrative.


Artists in the exhibition include:


James Allen (Portland, OR), Doug Beube (New York, NY), Andrew Hayes (Penland, NC), Guy Laramée (Montreal, Canada), Math Monahan (Boston, MA), Tom Phillips (London, England), Susan Porteous (Bend, OR), Diana Fonseca Quiñones (Havana, Cuba) and Tim Rollins and K.O.S (New York, NY). Lenders to the exhibition: Laura Russo Gallery; JHB Gallery; Flowers Gallery, Sean Kelly Gallery, Lehmann Maupin and Private Collection, NY


Artist Links


James Allen: www.jamesallenstudio.com
Doug Beube: www.dougbeube.com/home.html
Andrew Hayes: www.andrew-hayes.squarespace.com
Guy Laramée: www.guylaramee.com
Math Monahan: www.mathmonahan.com
Tom Phillips: www.tomphillips.co.uk
Susan Porteous: www.susanporteous.net


Gallery Links


Laura Russo Gallery: www.laurarusso.com
JHB Gallery, New York: www.jhbgallery.com
Flowers Gallery: www.flowersgallery.com
Sean Kelly Gallery: www.skny.com
Lehmann Maupin: www.lehmannmaupin.com



Download The Unbound Narrative exhibition brochure here


Select Works From the Exhibition



What better way to broaden one's appreciation of Unbound Narrative than with a book list? This exhibition which features artists that utilize books as their medium, begs for visitors to immerse themselves in the world of literature, and New Hanover County Public Library and Old Books on Front St. have compiled 20 books inspired by Unbound Narrative."


Old Books on Front St.

The Secret Life of Salvador Dali by Salvador Dali
The Moon and Sixpence by Somerset Maugham
Paper Made! by Kayte Terry
Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Riike
Lust for Life by Irving Stone
The Thirteenth Tale by Diana Setterfield


New Hanover County Public Library

Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
On Paper by Nicholas Basbanes
The Map Thief by Michael Blanding
People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks
The Rule of Four by Ian Caldwell
Gutenberg's Apprentice by Alix Christie
The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
The Art of Description by Mark Doty
Digital Destiny by Shawn DuBravac
The Story is True: The Art and Meaning of Telling Stories by Bruce Jackson
Overlay: Contemporary Art and the Art of Prehistory by Lucy R. Leppard
The Bookman's Tale by Charles Lovett
An Object of Beauty by Steve Martin
Artful by Ali Smith


Art From Flour


Art From Flour: Barrel To Bag

October 8, 2016 - February 12, 2017


Examining the history of the humble flour sack, Art From Flour: Barrel to Bag illustrates how a food staple became a reflection of art and life in America. Through the efforts of creative citizens, designers and American resourcefulness, this everyday object has been transformed into examples of grass roots design through necessity and ultimately into a unique art form that reveals our history and shared visual culture. Guest curated by Edward Irvine, associate professor of studio art in the UNC Wilmington department of Art & Art History.


Art of Illumination 2016

December 3, 2016 - January 8, 2017


Art of Illumination returns to CAM! Drawing inspiration from traditional lantern festivals that mark the season’s change and year’s end, over forty artists created new and original hand-built lanterns. With the lanterns illuminating both the darkness of longer nights and the beginnings of the future, this exhibition will give rise to a shared experience of reflection and anticipation. (Click here for more information)



Opening Party: Friday December 2, 6-8 p.m.
CAM Members: $10 per admission / Not Yet Members: $16 per admission

Be among the first to experience over forty hand-built lanterns created by artists from the Cape Fear area and across the U.S. while enjoying light refreshments, cash bar and live music by legendary entertainer Grenoldo Frazier.
(Purchase your tickets here)


While You're Here..